For its first official evening,  the 16th edition of Mawazine offered a high-level program that celebrated the French crooner and national and international artists. The day before, the great Youssou N’Dour, a most loyal Mawazine regular, sang at the festival.

Rabat, May 13, 2017: The opening of a festival is always a special moment, full of emotions and reunion. Mawazine Festival can certainly confirm that, as the event offered two evenings back-to-back that its festivalgoers will certainly never forget!

The first on Thursday, May 11, allowed the public to (re) discover one of the most renowned singer songwriter, composer and musician of Africa: Youssou N’Dour, a most loyal Festival regular, who in a few years managed to rise to the rank of world music star and reference.

The following day, Friday May 12, the public has a rendez vous with a living music legend on the stage of Mohammed V National Theater. For an hour, Charles Aznavour lulled, rocked and cradled a full house of his fans, which hummed the hottest hits of the master crooner. Coined “Entertainer of the Century” by CNN in 1988, Grand Charles leads a unique career spanning 70 years. Boasting over 100 million records sold, 1,200 songs, 80 feature films, 294 albums, hundreds of gold, platinum and diamond records, and thousands of concerts in 94 countries around the world,

Two miles away, another star was illuminating the sky of Rabat, more precisely on the OLM Souissi stage. Coming straight from Britain, Ellie Goulding with her With 30 million sold albums, left a deep impression on her audience with her exhilarating electro-pop melodies that made her successful debut in 2010.Very active on the social networks, she has no less than 30 million followers. Yesterday, the vibrant singer confirmed before thousands of festivalgoers that she fully deserves both critical and public recognition.

A privileged venue of Oriental music, Nahda stage offered, in its turn, a great moment of music with the famous Sami Yusuf, author, composer, performer and poet deservedly heralded “the most popular Muslim British in the world”. Through his music, which evokes his relationship with Islam, the singer celebrated love, tolerance and mercy, claiming a rare authenticity and an intact passion for traditional heritage. This commitment allowed him to sell no less than 34 million records and to revolutionize the “anasheeds” by giving birth to a new musical genre.

Strongly committed to the promotion of Moroccan music and Moroccan artists, Mawazine has as always granted a centre place to the singers and musicians of the kingdom. The Salé stage was the scene of the performances of several major figures in the national repertoire, including Fatima Zahra Laâroussi, Tahour, Latifa Raafat, Regragui Orchestra and Abderrahim Souiri.

Committed to the development of all the music of the African continent, Mawazine was also for this first evening a showcase of multiculturalism. On the Bouregreg stage, Panache Culture has delivered a blend of several musical styles: pure reggae  open on oriental influences and North African sounds. Highly appreciated, the band tackled brilliantly the themes of everyday life. All with a positive energy that took the audience on a journey to a surprising and innovative musical world!

Useful information:

16th edition of Mawazine Festival Rhythms of the World: May 12th to 20th 2017.

About Festival Mawazine Rythmes du Monde:

Established in 2001, the Mawazine Festival Rhythms of the World is the essential rendezvous for music amateurs in Morocco with, for the last 15 years, over 2 million festivalgoers at each edition. Held every month of May over nine days, Mawazine offers a rich and diversified program where world stars from the four corners of the world make of the cities of Rabat and Salé a world stage for music.  Committed to promote Moroccan Music, the Festival devotes more than half of its shows to national artists. As a firm believer in the in values of peace, tolerance openness and respect, 90% of the concerts are free of charge so that everybody can enjoy it. Mawazine also participates in the region’s economy, attracting tourists from all over the world; thus making of Morocco once every year a world music stage.

About Maroc Cultures Association:

Created In compliance with the provisions of November 15, 1958 Dahir, and further to a General Assembly held in Rabat on October 23, 2001, Maroc Cultures is a non-profit association whose main mission is to offer to the public of Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaër region a highly professional cultural and artistic entertainment worthy of the capital of the kingdom. Echoing the fundamental values of His Majesty King Mohammed VI development policy, Maroc Cultures materializes this mission through Mawazine Rhythms of the World Festival as well as various events, multi-disciplinary symposia, plastic art exhibitions and concerts.

" />
UNDER THE HIGH PATRONAGE OF HIS MAJESTY KING MOHAMMED VI

News

© Copyright 2018 Association Maroc Cultures.

La 16e édition de Mawazine a accueilli pour sa première soirée officielle une programmation de haut niveau qui a mis à l’honneur le crooner français et des artistes nationaux et internationaux. La veille, c’est le grand Youssou N’Dour, un fidèle de Mawazine, qui a chanté pour le festival.

Rabat, le 13 mai 2017 : L’ouverture d’un festival est toujours un moment particulier, riche en émotions et en retrouvailles. Mawazine en sait quelque chose, puisque la manifestation a offert coup sur coup deux soirées que ses festivaliers ne sont pas prêts d’oublier !

La première, jeudi 11 mai, a permis au public de (re)découvrir un des plus grands auteurs-compositeurs, interprètes et musiciens de l’Afrique : le célèbre Youssou N’Dour, un fidèle de Mawazine qui a su, en quelques années, se hisser au rang de star et de référence de la musique mondiale.

Le lendemain, vendredi 12 mai, c’est avec une légende vivante que les festivaliers avaient rendez-vous sur la scène du Théâtre National Mohammed V. Pendant une heure, Charles Aznavour a bercé, dans une salle comble, un public venu nombreux écouter (et fredonner) les plus grands tubes du maître crooner. Nommé “Entertainer of the Century” par CNN en 1988, le grand Charles mène une carrière unique qui s’échelonne sur 70 ans. A la clé : plus de 100 millions de disques vendus, 1 200 chansons, 80 films, 294 albums, des centaines de disques d’or, de platine et de diamant, et des milliers de concerts dans 94 pays à travers le monde.

De star, il était aussi question à l’OLM, où la Britannique Ellie Goulding, 30 millions d’albums vendus au compteur, a fait forte impression avec les mélodies électro-pop enivrantes qui ont fait son succès depuis son premier album en 2010. Très présente sur les réseaux sociaux, où elle compte quelque 30 millions d’abonnés, la pétillante chanteuse a montré aux festivaliers combien sa place à part dans le monde de la musique, où elle cumule les récompenses et la reconnaissance critique, était amplement méritée !

Site d’expression privilégié des musiques orientales, la scène Nahda a à son tour offert un très grand moment de musique avec le célèbre Sami Yusuf, auteur, compositeur, interprète et poète proclamé “britannique musulman le plus populaire au monde”. A travers sa musique, qui évoque sa relation avec l’islam, le chanteur a célébré l’amour, la tolérance et la miséricorde, en revendiquant une authenticité rare et une passion intacte pour les patrimoines traditionnels. Cet engagement lui a permis de vendre pas moins de 34 million de disques et de révolutionner les “anasheeds” en donnant naissance à un nouveau genre musical.

Très attaché aux artistes du Maroc, Mawazine a comme toujours réservé un place de choix aux chanteurs et musiciens du royaume. La scène de Salé a ainsi été le théâtre des prestations remarquées de plusieurs grandes figures du répertoire national dont Fatima Zahra Laâroussi, Tahour, Latifa Raafat, Orchestre Regragui et Abderrahim Souiri.

Festival africain engagé dans la valorisation de toutes les musiques du continent, Mawazine a aussi été pour ce premier soir le haut lieu du métissage. Sur la scène Bouregreg, Panache Culture a livré un savant mix de plusieurs styles musicaux : du reggae pur jus ouvert sur des influences orientales et des sonorités nord-africaines. Très applaudi, le groupe a abordé avec brio les thèmes de la vie quotidienne. Le tous avec une énergie positive qui a fait voyager le public dans un monde musical surprenant et innovant !

Informations utiles :

16e Festival Mawazine-Rythmes du Monde du 12 au 20 mai 2017.

A propos du Festival Mawazine Rythmes du Monde :

Créé en 2001, le festival Mawazine Rythmes du Monde est le rendez-vous incontournable des amateurs et passionnés de musique au Maroc. Avec plus de 2 millions de festivaliers pour chacune de ses dernières éditions, il est considéré comme le deuxième plus grand événement culturel au monde. Organisé pendant neuf jours, chaque année au mois de mai, Mawazine offre une programmation riche et exigeante qui mêle les plus grandes stars du répertoire mondial et arabe, faisant des villes de Rabat et Salé le théâtre de rencontres exceptionnelles entre le public et une kyrielle d’artistes de renom. Très engagé dans la promotion de la musique marocaine, Mawazine consacre plus de la moitié de sa programmation aux talents de la scène nationale. Porteur des valeurs de paix, d’ouverture, de tolérance et de respect, le festival propose un accès gratuit à 90 % des concerts, faisant de l’accessibilité des publics une mission essentielle. Il est en outre un soutien majeur à l’économie touristique régionale et un acteur de premier plan dans la création d’une véritable industrie du spectacle au Maroc.

A propos de l’Association Maroc Cultures :

Créée lors d’une assemblée générale tenue à Rabat le 23/10/01, conformément aux dispositions du Dahir du 15 novembre 1958, Maroc Cultures est une association à but non lucratif qui s’est fixée pour mission principale de garantir aux publics de la région de Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaër une animation culturelle et artistique d’un niveau professionnel digne de la capitale du royaume. En écho aux valeurs fondamentales de la politique de développement de Sa Majesté Le Roi Mohammed VI, Maroc Cultures concrétise cette noble mission via le Festival Mawazine Rythmes du Monde ainsi que différentes manifestations, colloques pluridisciplinaires, expositions d’art plastique et concerts.

" />
SOUS LE HAUT PATRONAGE DE SA MAJESTÉ LE ROI MOHAMMED VI

Actualités

© Copyright 2018 Association Maroc Cultures.