The Nahda stage hosts two exceptional concerts: Sami Yusuf, for the opening concert on May 12th, and Nawal Al Zoghbi on Sunday, May 14th.

Rabat, Tuesday, March 7th, 2017 – True to its founding mission, Mawazine will this year introduce to its Moroccan audience great names of international and Arabic music, showcasing different styles and registers. For this 16th edition, the Nahda stage will open with the great artist Sami Yusuf’s concert and, on Sunday, May 14th, it will host, the Lebanese diva Nawal Al Zoghbi.

Proclaimed the most popular British Muslim in the world, Sami Yusuf brought forth a new kind of Islamic music. Writer, composer, singer and poet, Sami Yusuf was born in Tehran. Artistically imbued with musical compositions and writing, he grew up in London with his family.

In 2003, Sami Yusuf released his first album Al Mu’allim (The Teacher). In 2005, he released a second album with songs in English entitled, My Ummah. Since then success has been achieved in Europe and in the Arab world.

Sami Yusuf’s musical innovation resides in his reconciliation of his belonging to Islam and the evolution of the contemporary modern society. Through his music he give the true message of love, tolerance and mercy. In his album Barakah, released in 2016, Sami Yusuf claims to maintain the authenticity of the traditional arts and heritage.

Boasting more than 8 albums and 34 million copies sold, Sami Yusuf is today one of the mainstays of world music.  He is also known for his many charitable activities. The United Nations has appointed him as World Ambassador against Hunger.

On Sunday, May 14th, the Nahda stage audience will enjoy the performance of the Lebanese oriental song diva, Nawal Al Zoghbi.

Since she began her career in 1988, Nawal Al Zoghbi has released more than 14 albums. It was on Studio El Fan that she first jumped in with both feet before releasing her first opus, Wehiaty Endak. Her second, Aizah el Rad, makes her mark on the stage and paves the way for success with the title, Walla bihemini.

In 1995, a famous Lebanese impresario decided to reunite Nawal with Wael Kfoury. Together, they release three songs, the most popular of which is Min habibi ana. It is with received enthusiastic accolades in the Arab world. Two years later, Nawal released an album, Habeit ya leil, with an avant-garde video, followed in 1998 by another title which will be her no ever equaled success, Mandam Aleik. The latter allows her to definitively establish her popularity, from the Maghreb to the Persian Gulf. Since then, Nawal Al Zoghbi has continued to enrich her career with collaborations and concerts and shows throughout the world.

" />
UNDER THE HIGH PATRONAGE OF HIS MAJESTY KING MOHAMMED VI

News

© Copyright 2018 Association Maroc Cultures.

La scène Nahda offre deux concerts inédits : Sami Yusuf, en concert d’ouverture le vendredi 12 mai, et Nawal Al Zoghbi le dimanche 14 mai.

Rabat, le mardi 7 mars 2017 – Fidèle à sa vocation fondatrice, Mawazine fait découvrir au public marocain les grands noms de la musique internationale et arabe avec différents styles et registres. Pour cette 16e édition, la scène Nahda sera inaugurée avec le concert du grand artiste Sami Yusuf et accueillera, le dimanche 14 mai, la diva libanaise Nawal Al Zoghbi.

Proclamé britannique musulman le plus populaire au monde, Sami Yusuf a donné naissance à un nouveau genre de musique islamique. Auteur, compositeur, interprète et poète, Sami Yusuf est né à Téhéran. Il a grandi à Londres avec sa famille, artistiquement imprégné de compositions musicales et d’écriture.

En 2003, Sami Yusuf lance son premier album Al Mu’allim (L’enseignant). Un deuxième album voit le jour en 2005, My Ummah (Ma communauté), avec des chansons en anglais. Le succès est au rendez-vous en Europe et dans le monde arabe.

Sami Yusuf innove en présentant une musique qui réconcilie l’appartenance à l’islam et l’évolution de la société moderne contemporaine. L’artiste déclare donner le vrai message de l’amour, de la tolérance et de la miséricorde. Dans son album Barakah, sorti en 2016, Sami Yusuf revendique le maintien de l’authenticité des arts et du patrimoine traditionnels.

Aujourd’hui, Sami Yusuf a à son actif plus de 8 albums et 34 millions d’exemplaires vendus. Il est aussi connu pour ses nombreuses actions caritatives. L’Organisation des Nations Unies l’a nommé ambassadeur mondial contre la faim.

Dimanche 14 mai, le public de la scène Nahda aura rendez-vous avec la diva de la chanson orientale libanaise Nawal Al Zoghbi.

Nawal Al Zoghbi a sorti plus de 14 albums depuis qu’elle a débuté sa carrière en 1988. C’est dans l’émission Studio El Fan qu’elle s’est lancée avant de produire son premier opus, Wehiaty Endak. Le deuxième, Aizah el Rad, marque sa présence sur la scène et la prépare pour le succès avec le titre Walla bihemini.

En 1995, un célèbre imprésario libanais décide de réunir Nawal avec le chanteur Wael Kfoury. Ils font ensemble trois chansons dont la plus populaire est Min habibi ana. Celle-ci reçoit un accueil immense dans le monde arabe. Deux ans plus tard, Nawal sort un album, Habeit ya leil, avec un vidéoclip avant-gardiste, suivi d’un autre titre qui sera son plus grand succès, Mandam Aleik, en 1998. Ce dernier lui permet d’asseoir définitivement sa popularité, du Maghreb jusqu’au golfe Persique. Depuis, Nawal Al Zoghbi ne cesse d’enrichir son parcours avec des collaborations et des concerts et spectacles à travers le monde entier.

" />
SOUS LE HAUT PATRONAGE DE SA MAJESTÉ LE ROI MOHAMMED VI

Actualités

© Copyright 2018 Association Maroc Cultures.