UNDER THE HIGH PATRONAGE OF HIS MAJESTY KING MOHAMMED VI

Message from the President

Each year, the opening of Mawazine Festival, Rhythms of the World, kicks-off nine days of high-quality artistic performances, intended to showcase the Moroccan musical scene, as well as to reflect world cultures. This Seventeenth Edition is no exception to the rule. And it is my immense pleasure to invite you to this grand event.

Placed under the High Patronage of His Majesty the King Mohammed VI, May God assist Him, Mawazine has become an essential component of the national cultural landscape. Over the years, its audience has expanded so much that it has transcended boarders and turned the festival into an event both recognized and sought by artists from around the world. Not only does the Festival promote the image of Rabat, the capital of Morocco, but it also provides a splendid illustration of the cultural and artistic dynamics of our country.

Today, more than ever before, culture represents a vector of hope, as well as an amazing space for freedom and mutual appreciation. Over the last sixteen editions, the diversity of artists brought together by Mawazine has made it possible for us to open up to other forms of expression – some of which we can relate to and others that are completely novel. Music miraculously succeeds in connecting us to one another and allowing us to share emotional moments. For youth, music is an opportunity through which they grow and build themselves collectively, thus obviating many other factors that may well divide them.

Culture is here to help us grow, all together. This belief is shared by all our teams at Maroc Cultures who are committed to design a festival whose values are aimed at young people around the world. Our success is clearly apparent in the loyalty of our fan-base, and the growing interest among international media and within social networks. But nothing compares to perceiving the joy on the faces of our audience along the years!

We also owe a great deal of our success to the continuous efforts made by all our stakeholders, beginning with the local authorities who spare no efforts in allowing Mawazine to take place in a safe and secure environment, and just as importantly, our sponsors, partners, clients and volunteers who have all shown unwavering enthusiasm for the Festival, year in and year out. Kindly allow me to thank them all and to extend my salute to the local businesses who work alongside us to make Mawazine a true success. Together, we are striving to build a national show and entertainment industry, which would create significant added-value for tourism and strengthen the economic fabric within the Region.

I look forward to seeing you all from june 22nd to 30th 2018 in Rabat, for a brand-new edition of Mawazine Festival, Rhythms of the World. Let the party begin !

 

Abdeslam Ahizoune
President of Mawazine Festival, Rhythms of the World
President of Maroc Cultures

 

© Copyright 2018 Association Morocco Cultures.

SOUS LE HAUT PATRONAGE DE SA MAJESTÉ LE ROI MOHAMMED VI

Mot du Président

L’ouverture du festival Mawazine-Rythmes du Monde est chaque année un moment fort, donnant le coup d’envoi à neuf jours d’une programmation artistique de grande qualité, à la fois vitrine de la scène artistique marocaine et reflet des cultures du monde. L’ouverture de cette dix-septième édition ne déroge pas à la règle, et c’est pour moi un grand plaisir que de vous y inviter.

Placé sous le Haut Patronage de Sa Majesté Le Roi Mohammed VI, que Dieu L’assiste, Mawazine est devenu une composante incontournable du paysage culturel national. Au fil des années, son audience s’est élargie, dépassant nos frontières pour en faire une manifestation reconnue et plébiscitée par les artistes du monde entier. Non seulement le festival contribue largement à la notoriété de Rabat, la capitale du Royaume, mais il constitue également une belle illustration de la formidable vitalité culturelle et artistique de notre pays.

Aujourd’hui plus que jamais, la culture représente à la fois un vecteur des grandes espérances et un formidable espace de liberté et d’écoute. En seize éditions, la diversité des artistes réunis à travers Mawazine a permis de nous ouvrir à d’autres formes d’expressions, certaines éloignées et d’autres plus proches. La musique réussit le miracle de nous relier les uns aux autres, de nous offrir des moments d’émotion et de partage. Pour la jeunesse, la musique est aussi une opportunité : elle grandit à travers elle et se construit collectivement grâce à elle, quand tant d’autres clivages peuvent la diviser.

La culture est là pour nous faire évoluer, tous ensemble. Cette conviction est au cœur de la démarche et de l’engagement porté par les équipes de Maroc Cultures. Et c’est parce que nous en sommes convaincus que nous consacrons autant d’énergie à concevoir et proposer un festival dont les valeurs s’adressent à la jeunesse du monde entier. Le nombre de personnes présentes à chaque édition et l’intérêt/l’engouement croissant des médias internationaux et des réseaux sociaux sont la preuve du succès de Mawazine, autant que la joie que nous pouvons lire sur les visages des festivaliers.

Bien sûr, cette réussite doit beaucoup à celles et ceux qui œuvrent au succès de Mawazine: les autorités et les services de sécurité qui ne ménagent aucun effort pour que Mawazine se déroule dans les meilleures conditions de sécurité, de calme et de sérénité, les sponsors et partenaires, les clients, ainsi que les bénévoles dont l’enthousiasme pour Mawazine est chaque année intact. Qu’il me soit permis de les remercier. Qu’il me soit aussi permis de saluer l’excellent travail des entreprises locales qui travaillent à nos côtés, que nous soutenons et avec lesquelles nous contribuons à édifier une industrie nationale du spectacle, créatrice de valeur ajoutée pour le tourisme et le tissu économique du pays.

Rendez-vous, pour partager ensemble le bonheur de cette nouvelle édition de Mawazine, Rythmes du Mondes, du 22 au 30 juin 2018, et que la fête commence!

 

Abdeslam AHIZOUNE
Président du Festival Mawazine Rythmes du Monde
Président de Maroc Cultures

 

© Copyright 2018 Association Maroc Cultures.