Shining stars illuminate the skies of Mawazine’s fifth day: Booba, Fares Karam, Charles Aznavour for the second time in a week.

Rabat, May 17, 2017: Star of the fifth day of the festival, Booba captured the heart of thousands of festivalgoers at the OLM Stage. With his energetic music, sharp flow and incisive style, the French rapper has lined up his greatest hits, earning him no less than eight gold records and five platinum records during his career. Recognized all over the world, his immense talent, which allowed him to collaborate with P. Diddy, Akon and Ryan Leslie, was once again at work: Booba was indeed applauded by a delirious crowd, proving that rap made in France has a promising future ahead!

First time performing at the festival but twice in one week, the great Charles Aznavour performed a second time, to the delight of his many fans. Having just celebrated his 92 birthday, the French crooner performed before a packed theatre the showing how much of a living legend of the song he still is. Charles Aznavour was named “Entertainer of the Century” by CNN in 1988, and has led a unique career for 70 years, selling more than 100 million records, producing 294 albums, writing 1,200 songs, and reaped hundreds of gold, platinum and diamond discs!

Those who have been to Nahda stage have to their delight heard one of the greatest Lebanese singers, Fares Karam. He successfully mixed the dabkeh with the revised rhythms of Lebanon. With eight albums released and concert tours in the United States, Canada, Australia and South America, Fares Karam always offered his best hits: Shefta, El Tanoura, Reitani and Neswanji–hits that allowed him to export this musical style outside of Lebanon as was the case yesterday in Rabat.

That same evening, Morocco also surprised the festivalgoers by the richness of Moroccan talents performing on Salé stage. On the menu a châabi atmosphere and a large audience attending the performances of three artists specializing in the genre; namely, Hamid Serghini, Zina Daoudia and Five Stars, who played the most famous pieces of this popular music art while revisiting them their own way!

If Salé stage was purely Moroccan, Bouregreg stage celebrated the whole African continent in the person of Ibibio Sound Machine, an Afro-London collective that heated up the stage with fusion cocktails mixing the highlife and Electro, post-punk and disco. On the bank of the Bouregreg River, the band impressed with its devastating tubes, futuristic funk music heightened with the powerful voice of its leader Eno Williams. Synthesizers and percussions blurring the markings and making the band’s music a journey in space and time!

All the while some festivalgoers were enjoying Chaabi music and other African music, those who opted for Chellah stage were vibrating to the sound of the Balearic Islands and two emblematic artists from there: Marco Mezquida, a complete and legendary musician, creator of a unique pianistic style, and Juan Gómez “Chicuelo” The most important flamenco guitarists and one of the most prolific and original composers of his time. The duo offered a concert that subtly mixed authenticity, mutual admiration and complete devotion to the music.

Finally, as tradition goes, the streets of Rabat and Salé were fraught with bands and street performance groups performing their respective styles to the delight of the public. to name of few, Rabat and Salé dwellers could enjoy performances from  Oussama Band, specialist of the circus arts, and Bakho Atika Group, recognized for His mastery of dance and dakka marrakchia.

Useful information:

16th edition of Mawazine Festival Rhythms of the World: May 12th to 20th 2017.

About Festival Mawazine Rythmes du Monde:

Established in 2001, the Mawazine Festival Rhythms of the World is the essential rendezvous for music amateurs in Morocco with, for the last 15 years, over 2 million festivalgoers at each edition. Held every month of May over nine days, Mawazine offers a rich and diversified program where world stars from the four corners of the world make of the cities of Rabat and Salé a world stage for music.  Committed to promote Moroccan Music, the Festival devotes more than half of its shows to national artists. As a firm believer in the in values of peace, tolerance openness and respect, 90% of the concerts are free of charge so that everybody can enjoy it. Mawazine also participates in the region’s economy, attracting tourists from all over the world; thus making of Morocco once every year a world music stage.

About Maroc Cultures Association:

Created In compliance with the provisions of November 15, 1958 Dahir, and further to a General Assembly held in Rabat on October 23, 2001, Maroc Cultures is a non-profit association whose main mission is to offer to the public of Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaër region a highly professional cultural and artistic entertainment worthy of the capital of the kingdom. Echoing the fundamental values of His Majesty King Mohammed VI development policy, Maroc Cultures materializes this mission through Mawazine Rhythms of the World Festival as well as various events, multi-disciplinary symposia, plastic art exhibitions and concerts.

" />
UNDER THE HIGH PATRONAGE OF HIS MAJESTY KING MOHAMMED VI

News

© Copyright 2018 Association Maroc Cultures.

Le rappeur français et le chanteur libanais ont brillé lors de la cinquième journée de Mawazine. Autre temps fort, le second concert de Charles Aznavour, qui a une nouvelle fois affiché complet au Théâtre National Mohammed V.

Rabat, le 17 mai 2017 : Tête d’affiche de cette cinquième journée, Booba a conquis des milliers de festivaliers réunis devant la scène de l’OLM. Avec sa musique énergique, son flow tranchant et son style incisif, le rappeur français a enchaîné ses plus grands succès, qui lui ont valu pas moins de huit disques d’or et cinq disques de platine au cours de sa carrière. Reconnu dans le monde entier, son immense talent, qui lui a permis de collaborer avec P. Diddy, Akon et Ryan Leslie, a une nouvelle fois été à l’oeuvre : Booba a en effet été longuement applaudi par une foule en délire, prouvant que le rap made in France avait de beaux jours devant lui !

Nouveau au Festival mais déjà fidèle de Mawazine, le grand Charles Aznavour s’est produit une seconde fois, après son concert de vendredi, pour le plus grand bonheur de ses fans. Dans un Théâtre National Mohammed V comble, le French crooner, qui a célébré son 92e anniversaire, a montré combien il restait une légende vivante de la chanson. Nommé “Entertainer of the Century” par CNN en 1988, Charles Aznavour mène depuis 70 ans une carrière unique, au cours de laquelle il a vendu plus de 100 millions de disques, réalisé 294 albums, écrit 1 200 chansons, tourné dans 80 films et récolté des centaines de disques d’or, de platine et de diamant !

Sur la scène Nahda, c’est un fidèle de Mawazine, Fares Karam, l’un des plus grands chanteurs libanais, qui a mélangé avec succès le dabkeh aux rythmes revisités du Liban. L’homme, qui compte huit albums à son actif et des tournées aux Etats-Unis, au Canada, en Australie et en Amérique du Sud, a interprété ses plus grands succès, Shefta, El Tanoura, Reitani ou encore Neswanji, qui ont largement contribué à propager ce style musical hors du Liban et qui ont été repris en choeur par le public pendant tout le concert !

Ce même soir, le Maroc a aussi surpris les festivaliers par la richesse de ses talents réunis sur la scène de Salé. Au programme : une ambiance châabi et un public venu nombreux assister aux performances de trois artistes spécialistes du genre, à savoir Hamid Serghini, Zina Daoudia et Five Stars, qui ont joué les morceaux les plus célèbres de cet art musical populaire en les revisitant à leur manière !

Du Maroc au continent africain tout entier, Mawazine a également mis à l’honneur la musique afro avec la présence remarquée d’Ibibio Sound Machine, un collectif afro-londonien qui a fait chauffer les bacs avec des cocktails fusionnels mixant le highlife et l’électro, le post-punk et la disco. Sur la scène du Bouregreg, le groupe a impressionné par ses tubes ravageurs, un funk futuriste gonflé aux synthés et la voix puissante de son leader Eno Williams. A la clé, des synthés, nappes et percussions brouillant les repères et donnant à la disco mutante du groupe des allures de voyage dans l’espace et le temps !

Au même moment, le public réuni au Chellah vibrait aux sons des Baléares et de deux personnalités emblématiques de l’île espagnole : Marco Mezquida, un musicien complet et légendaire, créateur d’un style pianistique unique, et Juan Gómez “Chicuelo”, un des guitaristes les plus importants du flamenco et un compositeur parmi les plus productifs et originaux de son temps. Le duo a offert un concert qui a subtilement mélangé l’authenticité, l’admiration mutuelle et une dévotion complète à la musique.

Enfin, comme il est de tradition, Mawazine a aussi investi pour cette deuxième journée les rues de Rabat et de Salé avec des fanfares et spectacles de rue qui ont réuni les troupes marocaines Oussama Band, spécialiste des arts du cirque, et Groupe Bakho Atika, reconnu pour sa maîtrise de la danse et de la dakka marrakchia.

Informations utiles :

16e Festival Mawazine-Rythmes du Monde du 12 au 20 mai 2017.

A propos du Festival Mawazine Rythmes du Monde :

Créé en 2001, le festival Mawazine Rythmes du Monde est le rendez-vous incontournable des amateurs et passionnés de musique au Maroc. Avec plus de 2 millions de festivaliers pour chacune de ses dernières éditions, il est considéré comme le deuxième plus grand événement culturel au monde. Organisé pendant neuf jours, chaque année au mois de mai, Mawazine offre une programmation riche et exigeante qui mêle les plus grandes stars du répertoire mondial et arabe, faisant des villes de Rabat et Salé le théâtre de rencontres exceptionnelles entre le public et une kyrielle d’artistes de renom. Très engagé dans la promotion de la musique marocaine, Mawazine consacre plus de la moitié de sa programmation aux talents de la scène nationale. Porteur des valeurs de paix, d’ouverture, de tolérance et de respect, le festival propose un accès gratuit à 90 % des concerts, faisant de l’accessibilité des publics une mission essentielle. Il est en outre un soutien majeur à l’économie touristique régionale et un acteur de premier plan dans la création d’une véritable industrie du spectacle au Maroc.

A propos de l’Association Maroc Cultures :

Créée lors d’une assemblée générale tenue à Rabat le 23/10/01, conformément aux dispositions du Dahir du 15 novembre 1958, Maroc Cultures est une association à but non lucratif qui s’est fixée pour mission principale de garantir aux publics de la région de Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaër une animation culturelle et artistique d’un niveau professionnel digne de la capitale du royaume. En écho aux valeurs fondamentales de la politique de développement de Sa Majesté Le Roi Mohammed VI, Maroc Cultures concrétise cette noble mission via le Festival Mawazine Rythmes du Monde ainsi que différentes manifestations, colloques pluridisciplinaires, expositions d’art plastique et concerts.

" />
SOUS LE HAUT PATRONAGE DE SA MAJESTÉ LE ROI MOHAMMED VI

Actualités

© Copyright 2018 Association Maroc Cultures.